flash fiction friday – i have seen the light

moon

“hello! it’s mr pontoon-spitoon calling

“yes….again

“well it’s about your light; it’s on, it’s too bright and i’m trying to get to sleep

“of course i have curtains, they’re just not made of lead

“enough about my soft furnishings, what have you got that thing blazing so brightly for?

“you have sheep that can read?

“do they know you talk about them like that?

“how long will they be reading for?

“that’s quite a long time, big book is it?

“what’s the point in reading that?

“i’ve got one they can read; the origin of……hello?…….HELLO?………bloody do-gooder”

Next Post
Leave a comment

42 Comments

  1. Waiting for Do Godot? I read this story about five times before I got a clue about who was who. The more I read it, the more I enjoyed it. Still some gaps in my mental picture (hole in my head, not your story) so I’ll look forward to reading other coments and your answers. Definitely outside of the box this Friday. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/last-of-the-first/

    Reply
    • thank you very much doug, and i’m not ashamed to say that i’ve missed you; i’m away for a few days so those answers will have to wait; and i too had to read it a few times to work out what the h… was goding on; becketts belief it does

      see yours soon

      Reply
  2. I may well not be smart enough to follow you.

    Reply
    • don’t lie – which bit are you pretending not to understand?

      Reply
      • I know there is a brilliant reference there, but I don’t recognize it. But I feel better after reading your very first posts. It is like watching you grow up.

      • some of the other comments may help you

        those early posts are special aren’t they…..

      • I was so lame at first, but I just poured it out. No idea where it was all leading.

      • i think that’s what’s really good about it; i need to continue tagging them all so when i finally get round to it i can have a really good cringe

      • I still go back and read my early stuff. It makes me laugh. The content was there, sort of. But I was wandering in the dark.

      • you definitely need to go back and read the early stuff i reckon, just to make sure you have changed if nothing else

      • I never change. Not in the ways that matter… or would indicate maturity.

      • they don’t have to matter…..it is only a blog you’re writing after all; but i bet there’s definitely something you’ve written recently that you’d never have even considered when you started

      • I go off on weird tangents. I didn’t know how to make moving pictures. But I am on target. This is about my art, my life. It is a diary and a novel. It is my inheritance for the kids my kid’s kids have.

      • that’s quite the vision………i just like the sound the keyboard makes

      • I am exercising demons as well.

      • exercising or exorcising…..because i’m a firm believer in attempting the former before carrying out the latter; some can prove useful

      • I like my demons muscular.

  3. that’s one way to get them to hang up! nice one. 🙂

    Reply
  4. *chuckling* Loved the humor of the piece. “Out-side-the-box,” for certain! Loved the reference to counting/reading sheep. Well done–I enjoyed it.

    Mine: http://www.vlgregory-circa1800.vpweb.com/blog.html

    Reply
    • thank you very much v.l.gregory-pohlenz, but i fear you may have misunderstood the sheep reference

      i liked yours at first glance, i’ll have a proper read when time…

      Reply
  5. I thought this was very funny, the voice was spot-on. I didn’t get the reference to sheep though that didn’t spoil my enjoyment. How long can you go on coming up with something ‘out of the box’ like this? You must be hell to live with… 🙂

    Mine’s at: http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/you-called-friday-fictioneers-may-2012/

    Reply
    • it was the lord’s flock

      you never know, it could be this week that i run dry….and yes…….i’m a veritable nightmare

      Reply
  6. This appeals to one of my favourite occupations – sitting in a cafe and listening to one half of peoples conversations giving you the chance to make up the other half. Brilliant.

    Here’s mine: http://womanontheedgeofreality.com/2012/05/11/friday-fictioneers-painting-creation/

    Reply
  7. TheOthers1

     /  11 May, 2012

    And I chuckled reading this. It took me a minute to see it was a phone call (?) though. The sheep bit really made me laugh.

    My attempt: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/she-called-to-him/

    Reply
    • it’s a reference that’s always made me smirk, i’m very glad you liked it, and ’twas a phonecall indeed

      Reply
  8. This was laugh out loud funny. It took me a second to figure out who was talking but once my silly little brain kicked in it was absolutely awesome. 🙂 Listening to only one half of a conversation is SO much fun.

    Awesome job!!

    Here’s mine: http://theothersideofsorrow.blogspot.com/2012/05/el-lobo.html?showComment=1336743165610#c2622051000766681638

    Reply
    • thank you very much mckenzie – your brain can’t be that silly and little if the conclusion you came to was awesome job!

      Reply
  9. I don’t know who you are…but I like you. And I got this right away. The clues were in the grammar as to *ahem* “who was who.” I can’t wait to read more of your work.

    http://quillshiv.com/2012/05/11/the-first-world/

    Reply
    • and now i like you too; your name rings a bell, do you organise these flash fiction things aswell or am i mistaken?

      i’m very glad you liked it, there’s a whole blog load of stuff if you can bear it….

      Reply
      • My name doesn’t usually ring any bells; it’s more of the word eviscerating sort. But I do run a weekly flash fiction prompt. It was on hiatus for a bit while I dealt with life stuff, but it’s back this week. The prompts go live on Sunday and the flash fiction are due on Thursdays. A nice space in between because we all have loads of work besides the fun stuff.

      • that pesky life stuff; i’ll aim to pop over and see it, i guess i’ll recognise a fair few of the names; so do you have no fun at work at all?!

      • Oh, I think so. The shorter pieces are more like play, though. More experimentation.

      • i can see how they could stimulate should one find oneself with writer’s block

  10. Very funny and creative use of dialog. Don’t let the sheep get hold of a copy of Silence Of The Lambs!
    My story is here: http://bridgesareforburning.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  11. Madison Woods

     /  15 May, 2012

    Haha, this sounded like the Devil calling God about the moonlight bothering his sleep. Cute, no matter who was doing the calling.

    Reply
  12. Okay, now I am done. Read it all. You can not be labeled. You have a style that is like no style, but then you change it every post anyway. What is up with you? You defy description. It is awe inspiring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

